Student spotlight

Jayhawk Journalists bring home national and regional awards and spread out across the globe for internship

Summer 2019 Edition 

Kansas Association of Broadcasters Awards

Students picked up their awards during the Kansas Association of Broadcasters awards ceremony at KU in April. From left: Keely McCormick, Warren Sears, Lauren Wolfe, Courtney Gehrke, Malik Jackson and Joshua McQuade.

The following students won awards in the Kansas Association of Broadcasters’ Student Awards competition:
Courtney Gehrke and KUJH staff, first place in Complete Newscast
Aksinya Kichigina, first place in Hard News Package
Keely McCormick, second place in Sportscast
Jack Nadeau and Nick Couzin, honorable mention in Sports Play-by-Play
Keely McCormick and Malik Jackson, honorable mention in Entertainment Program

Investigative Reporters and Editors Awards

The University Daily Kansan was named a finalist in the Investigative Reporters and Editors Awards in the Student-Small division for a story Conner Mitchell wrote about a secret settlement the university paid to an employee terminated from the School of Architecture and Design.

ACES: The Society for Editing Scholarship

Savanna Smith won a scholarship from ACES: The Society for Editing, which awards scholarships to students commit- ted to a career in editing. Scholarship winners receive $1,500 and aid to attend the ACES national conference. At the conference, Smith won second place in the student division of the headline contest.

College Media Business and Advertising Managers Awards

Two staffers from the University Daily Kansan/Jayhawk Media Group won awards at the annual convention of the College Media Business and Advertising Managers convention Feb. 28-March 2 in La Jolla, California. Senior Taylor Moreno won second place in the best sales representative competition. Senior Baylee Parsons won third place in the competition for best student sales or operations manager.

Graduate Student Awards

The J-School honored graduate students during Graduate Student Appreciation Week in April. Tien Lee (left), Associate Dean For Graduate Studies, presented awards for:
• Most creative research paper title: Shola Aromona (second from left)
• Most productive researcher: John Watson (front)
• Outstanding GTA: Jill Hinrich Howell (third from left)
• Most resilient: Nyan Lynn (right)
• Outstanding graduate student: Shola Aromona

Outstanding Student in Leadership

Doctoral student Michelle Keller received the Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership Award in April from KU’s Emily Taylor Center for Women and Gender Equity. The award recognizes a woman student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills by taking an active role in campus or community organizations, developing a new project or addressing a current need.

Michelle Keller

Michelle Keller

Thomas O’Hara (left) and Angel Tran (right)

Thomas O’Hara (left) and Angel Tran (right)

Jayhawk Impact Award Winners

Two J-School students were honored in April at the Jayhawk Impact Awards. Thomas O'Hara and Angel Tran were selected as Tradition of Excellence recipients. The award recognizes students who uphold the prestige and history of the students who came before them and who wish to continue carving a path of distinction for the future.

Society of Professional Journalists Awards

Several J-School students were recognized in the Large (10,000+ students) category in this year’s Region 7 Society of Professional Journalists’ Mark of Excellence Awards:
Lara Korte won first place for In-Depth Reporting, for a story on a program for students who aged out of the foster-care system.
Chandler Boese won first place for Breaking News Reporting, for coverage of a fire at America’s Best Value Inn.
Tianna Witmer won for Feature Writing, for a story about a KU graduate and World War II pilot whose remains were finally found and returned.
Hailey Dixon was a finalist for Sports Writing, for a story about junior college football athletes.
Rebekah Lodos was a finalist for General Column Writing, for a portfolio of three columns on feminist issues.

Great Plains Journalism Awards

Chandler Boese and Shaun Goodwin were finalists in the 2019 Great Plains Journalism Awards Contest.The regional contest honors print, online, TV and magazine journalists for outstanding stories, photography and design in Oklahoma, Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Iowa, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Kansas High School Journalist of the Year receives J-School scholarship

Nicole-Marie Konopelko (left), senior from Pittsburg High School, received a plaque March 6 from Eric Thomas (right), Kansas Scholastic Press Association executive director, for being named Kansas Student Journalist of the Year. Konopelko, who is editor-in-chief of her high school paper, The Booster Redux, also was runner-up in the Journalism Education Association’s contest for national high school journalist of the year. She is the recipient of the J-School’s Kaiser Scholarship, which is a full scholarship to attend the J-School starting this fall.